To view graphic version of this page, refresh this page (F5)

Skip to page body
 

60-Day Eviction Notice Law Expires on December 31, 2005

60-Day Eviction Notice Law Expires on December 31, 2005

The following information provided courtesy of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.  You can find them at: http://www.dca.ca.gov/publications/landlordbook

On January 1, 2006, for tenants who have resided in the premises for one year or more, landlords who wish to terminate that tenancy are no longer required to give 60-days notice, but only 30-days notice. Civil Code section 1946.1, which required the 60-day notice, was to remain in effect beyond this date only if legislation were passed to extend it. However, such legislation was not passed and, therefore, the notice requirement reverts back to the prior law requiring 30-days notice. Please note that references to the 60-day eviction notice requirement in California Tenants - A Guide to Residential Tenants’ and Landlords’ Rights and Responsibilities (Page 33-34) are no longer correct beginning January 1, 2006.

Last updated: 10/21/2009 2:48:22 PM